Title: sabran ya nafsī
Munshid: Unknown ; Naif al-Shahran ; Abu Usayd
Year: 2009

Original Version

Naif al-Shahran (2012), in support of the Syrian Revolution

 

صبرا يا نفسي .. صبرا يا نفسي معنا الله
ورحاب الشام .. ورحاب الشام صرخت آه

صبرا يا نفسي .. صبرا يا نفسي معنا الله
ورحاب الشام .. ورحاب الشام صرخت آه

صبرا فطريقي .. صبرا فطريقي من نيران
والحور تنادي .. والحور تنادي بالرضوان

أتذكر لما ودعتكِ يوما .. فبكيتِ علي من الإشفاق
قلتِ يا ولدي لا تكوي كبدي .. تقتلني الذكرى والأشواق

أتذكر لما ودعتكِ يوما .. فبكيتِ علي من الإشفاق
قلتِ يا ولدي لا تكوي كبدي .. تقتلني الذكرى والأشواق

فخرجت لأني أبصر في زمني .. كفرا يتسلط في الأجواء
فحملت سلاحي ورفعت لوائي .. ومضيت أقاتل في الأعداء

في الجنة أشدو وأُغرّد أحدو .. وأرتل آيات القرآن
وأقابل فيها زوجي وبنيها .. وأعانق أمي والأخوان

Have patience O my soul!
Have patience O my soul!
Allah is with us.
And the yards of al-Quds screamed “Aah!”
Have patience, for my path is made out of fire.
And the Hoor are calling to the pleasure.
I still remember when,
I said fairwell to you
and you cried over me out of grief.
You said, “Oh my son..
Don’t destroy my heart,
it will burn with memories and the longing in me
I set out, because
I observe in my country,
a blasphemy that is prevailing everywhere
So I carried my weapon,
and raised my flag,
and set forth to fight the enemies
In the paradise I sing,
and am overwhelmed with happiness,
and I recite the verses of the Quran
And I meet therein,
my wife and children,
and I hug my mother and the brothers

