Title: Al Hijab
Munshid: Ahmad Bukhatir
Year: 2009

فليقولوا عن حجابي أنه يفني شبابي
Let them say about my hijab that it wastes my youth

وليغالوا في عتابي إن للدين انتسابي
Let them increase in my blame, I adhere to the religion

لا و ربي لن أبالي همتي مثل الجبال
By my Lord, I don’t care of what they say, my determination is like mountains

أي معنى للجمال إن غدا سهل المنال
There is no meaning for beauty if it may be obtained easily

حاولوا أن يخدعوني صحت فيهم أن دعوني
They tried to deceive me, I screamed to them to leave me alone

سوف أبقى في حصوني لست أرضى بالمجون
I will stay in my fortress, I am not accepting impudence

لن ينالوا من إبائي إنني رمز النقاء
They will not reach my pride, I am the sign of purity

سرت و التقوى ضيائي خلف خير الأنبياء
I  walked, piety being my shine
I walked after the best of prophets (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him)

إن لي نفسا أبية إنها تأبى الدنية إن دربي يا أخية قدوتي فيه سمية
I have a resistant soul, it refuses vileness. Oh my sister, my path… Sumayya** is my role model on it

من هدى الدين اغترافي نبعنا أختاه صافي
I feed my soul with the guidance of the religion… Oh sister our fountain is pure

دربنا درب العفاف فاسلكيه لا تخافي
Our way is the way of chastity… Walk in it, do not fear

ديننا دين الفضيلة ليس يرضى بالرذيلة
Our religion is the religion of virtue, it doesn’t accept vice

يا ابنة الدين الجليلة أنت للعليا سليلة
O daughter of the religion, you are raising to the heights

باحتجابي باحتشامي أفرض الآن احترامي سوف أمضي للأمام لا أبالي بالملام
Through my veiling, through my chastity, I establish my reverence.  I will go ahead, not minding of being blamed


** Sumayyah: A female companion of the prophet (pbuh), who was martyred by her former slave owner in the first periods of Islam for not rejecting Islam.

